LABIP Activities at LAB13

LAB13 was, due to Corona, postponed from 2020 till 2021 and finally was held as a virtual symposium from August 23 till 25. Even though the LAB community could not really meet, great presentations were listened to by over 300 participants, among several from LABIP member companies. Due to the restricted time frame, it was unfortunately not possible to have the traditional LABIP Thematic Session, but there was a timeslot on the last day where the LABIP Chairman Esben Laulund could present the awards for the Mid-Career Senior Scientist and for the 3 best posters.

Read More
Taxonomy changes in the genus Lactobacillus finally published

The publication of the extensive taxonomical changes in the genus Lactobacillus has now been published in the International Journal of Systematic and Evolutionary Microbiology (IJSEM). In October 2018 we organised an Expert Workshop on this topic in Verona. The changes in the genus and its consequences for industry were extensively discussed and the outcome of this workshop was published in Trends in Food Science and Technology November 2019. Find herewith a blog by Bruno Pot with a link to the publication in IJSEM and a tool that allows you to check the conversion from the old to the new name or vice versa. Also the publication on the outcome of the workshop is enclosed. We thank Bruno Pot and all scientists involved for all the work done.

LABIP blog taxonomical changes genus Lactobacillus

Supporting two Stakeholder documents initiated by the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)

Following the discussions at the LABIP Expert Workshop on the human microbiota and the Nagoya protocol and the publication of the outcome of the workshop in Microbial Cell Factories, LABIP has been asked to contribute to and co-sign two documents, initiated by the ICC knowingly:

  1. Implications of EU regulation 511/2014 on research on the human microbiome
  2. Promoting sustainable use and conservation of biodiversity through open exchange of Digital Sequence Information (DSI)
Read More